At Tayyibah all our children will study the 2014 National Curriculum for both core and foundation stage subjects. The Foundation Stage children will experience the seven areas of learning that are required and they are organised under the following areas:

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

• Communication and Language

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the World

• Physical Development

• Expressive Art and Design

These areas underpin the organisation of the learning environment; the activities provided for children and the monitoring of children’s progress and development.

In Key Stage One and Key Stage Two, children are taught all the elements of the newly required syllabus of the 2014 National Curriculum for both core (English, Maths and Science) and foundation subjects (history, geography,  art, physical education (PE) and religious education). At Tayyibah we have worked hard to ensure that the change to the new national curriculum has been smooth and through our planning, we have endeavoured to ensure that all learning is matched to the individual needs of our children. As far as possible a cross-curricular, thematic approach is used to teach the ‘core’ and ‘foundation’ subjects. A theme is selected and applied across a year group each term. By adding this dimension to learning we are able to provide opportunities for key skills to develop across the curriculum and to cultivate creative thinking.